John Tackaberry Future Leaders Award winner, Casey O’Gorman

70255773 1247700198746635 345159845537644544 n

Huge congratulations to United Association of Plumbers and Pipefitters Local 488 apprentice Casey O’Gorman, who won the 2019 John Tackaberry Future Leaders Award at BTA’s convention on Sept. 17 in Jasper, AB.

The Future Leaders Award was created in honour of the service and fond memory of our friend and brother, John Tackaberry.

John began apprenticing in 1976 and was a Journeyman Red Seal Glazier by trade. He was the proud chairman of the Building Trades of Alberta, business manager of IUPAT Local 177, and served on many trade and industry-related committees.

John was a leader and advocate for apprenticeship, training and workers’ rights. The Building Trades of Alberta established the John Tackaberry Future Leaders Award to be given annually to the Building Trades apprentice best able to demonstrate leadership among their peers and provide evidence of their commitment and passion to lead, ensuring the future growth and success of the unionized trade movement in Alberta.


Related Posts

Local 1999 is a Threat to Alberta Workers

The National Construction Council (NCC), Local 1999 says that they’re a “game changer” for the future of construction. “Game fixer” is more like it. Contracts signed by Local 1999 result in sub-standard agreements that, in the long-term will cause irreparable damage...

Alberta Budget 2022 overview

Yesterday, Finance Minister Travis Toews tabled Budget 2022 in the Alberta legislature, which, for the second time in ten years, will see the province in a balanced budget position. This is a welcomed development following years of deficits resulting from collapsed...